The National CONTINENTAL CONGRESS Historical Society

Annapolis   Baltimore   Lancaster   New York   Philadelphia   Princeton   Trenton   York

<script type="text/javascript">

  var _gaq = _gaq || [];
  _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-34701813-1']);

  (function() {
    var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;
    ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '';
    var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);


14 Key Dates in the Treaty of Paris Period (1783-87)

For a timeline with pictures and videos, click HERE.
September 3, 1783: The Treaty of Paris is signed in France.
November 26, 1783: Congress convenes in Annapolis.
December 23, 1783: General George Washington resigns from the Army.
January 14, 1784: The Treaty of Paris is ratified by Congress.
April 23, 1784: Congress passes the 1784 Land Ordinance, authored by Thomas Jefferson.
May 7, 1784: Thomas Jefferson is appointed as a minister to France.
May 12, 1784: The United States and Great Britain exchange ratified versions of the Treaty of Paris, officially ending the Revolutionary War
June 3, 1784: Congress leaves Annapolis. A Committee of the States stays behind to finish up the session.
August 13, 1784: Annapolis ceases to be the seat of the federal government.
March 25-28, 1785: Maryland and Virginia negotiate the Mount Vernon Compact, sharing the use of the Potomac River.
August 29, 1786: Shays's Rebellion begins.
September 11-14, 1786: The Annapolis Convention, attended by 12 delegates from 5 states, led by James Madison and Alexander Hamilton, issue a report that calls for another convention the following spring in Philadelphia that became the Constitutional Convention.
February 4, 1787: The main battle of Shays's Rebellion ends in defeat for the Shaysites.
May 25, 1787: The Constitutional Conventions begins in Philadelphia.

14 Presidents before George Washington? Click HERE.